two females talking

Patient Testimonials

All Patient Testimonials
Showing of 20 testimonials.
  • My Road to Recovery with Dr. Sanjeevi

    Dr. Sanjeevi listened to me and took my concerns seriously. She led to me finally receiving a diagnosis after a year of searching. She is a solutions-oriented doctor, and I feel very confident about being under her care. Even though I have not made a full recovery, having a diagnosis gives me a feeling of security about how to deal with my situation. I also know that the steps I am taking are leading me closer to healing versus just trying a lot of useless paths that were taking me nowhere (like all of the physicians that just wanted to prescribe me anxiety medication).

  • Dr. Ross, Dr. Rosemurgy, and their office staff was top notch in every aspect. The have excellent skills and bedside manner.

    We would like to thank Dr. Ross for her medical team’s stellar work my recent surgery (heller myotomy). Dr. Ross, Dr. Rosemurgy, and their office staff was top notch in every aspect. The have excellent skills and bedside manner.

    The surgery at Florida Hospital was a pleasant experience. Thank you to the anesthesia team led by Dr. Richard Warner and Dr. Thomas Hawk, the GI surgery residents that assisted Dr. Ross during the procedure, Lisa (RN) in Pre-Op, and the other following providers: (Guerline nurse) in PACU, Ashley and Donna in Pre-Op Kelli Smith (Op nurse), Rich and Jocelyn (RNs on the 4th floor, south) and Aaneesa of the 4th floor, south team. They were very professional, caring, and had excellent bedside manner.

    We thank you all for the excellent care, follow-up, and professionalism. God bless you and yours

  • She is now doing so well and I owe all that to you and your talented surgical skills and kindness!

    If someone was to tell me a year ago that I would be writing you this letter would tell them they were wrong. I am though and I am so grateful and thankful to you! I was dead set against the idea of having the surgery when we brought her to your office to get your opinion. But then we met you and Dr. Neal and my thoughts began to change. I was devastated when you said she would have the hernia repaired and the fundoplication. It was the hardest decision I have ever had to make because she had already been through so much. As the days passed and it got closer to the surgery date I realized that you wouldn’t offer to do this to her if you truly felt it wouldn’t work and help her. I prayed for days for guidance with this decision and then one day I just knew I could trust you with my daughter’s care. She is now doing so well and I owe all that to you and your talented surgical skills and kindness! To think how sick she was last summer and I never even knew why until Dr. Sanjeevi examined her and referred us to you. I just want to thank you and your team for taking such amazing care of our daughter and tell you how grateful we are to you. You are an amazing surgeon and we are so very thankful for your skills and for your kindness. I will never forget when you looked right at me before the surgery and you asked me if I was okay. That really meant the world to me. Our daughter is healthy because of you!!!

  • This robotic-assisted technology coupled with your team's obvious talent is something just short of a miracle.

    Several months ago, I started the process of looking for someone in the United States that had successfully performed Single Laparoscopic Inguinal Hernia Repair. After nearly a hundred of phone calls and emails, my search landed me on your doorstep. And from the moment I walked into your office, I knew that I was going to be a good hands.

    Fast forward... On April 6. 2017 Dr. Iswanto Sucandy on your team performed the surgery and I could not be happier. The hernia was originally thought to be moderate in size but we later learned that it was actually quite large.

    I was in surgery for less than 2 hours and within a few days, I was already feeling like a new man. After 2-weeks, I was (for the most part), back to normal activity.

    This robotic-assisted technology coupled with your team's obvious talent is something just short of a miracle. I wish I could tell the whole world. Short of that, if you have a bulletin board, please feel free to post this letter there. I want your entire staff to know that they have a made a huge difference in my life. My appreciation also extends to the Pre-Op and Post-Op staff at Florida Hospital Tampa. I shall be eternally grateful to everyone that played a role in the excellent care I received.

  • Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy - - you are a great team and we highly recommend you to everyone.

    I hope you haven't forgotten our family because we will always remember you and we will always be so grateful to you. We so appreciated you taking us as a fly-in patient from Bartow Memorial at the last minute even though it happened on a Friday night (June of 2015). Dr. Medalle shared with us that you never even hesitate in answering him when he called you. "We'll take him, send him on over."

    When I learned that Dr. Rosemurgy had been trained by Dr. Leffy Carlton, and we shared stories that Dr. Carlton was a neighbor and playmate of my mom’s when they were children in Wauchula, I knew in my heart that God had sent us to the right people and place.

    “It’s going to be a marathon, but you are going to get your husband back” – those were your words, Dr. Rosemurgy. It was a long ordeal but with your great talent and knowledge as doctors, he made it through AND his mind is as alert as ever. Do you remember, Dr. Ross, when you told him he had to be on that liquid diet until the drainage tubes were removed, and we said – but it is hard to liquefy a steak. I think he is even a little bit more stubborn than before.

    Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy - - you are a great team and we highly recommend you to everyone. We will always be indebted to the both of you for everything you did in sending Johnny back to us.

  • Thank you, thank you, thank you, for giving me my health back.

    Dr. Ross, My twin sister and I want to thank you. Thank you for giving me back my health and ability to enjoy life!!! I had a nissen fundoplication performed on December 16, 2015 after being misdiagnosed for over 10 years. After the surgery, I was unable to drink or eat without severe discomfort and usually I would end up vomiting.

    The surgeon just kept saying it wasn’t the surgery even though I told him I felt like liquid and food was not able to go into stomach. The pain was end of esophagus near stomach. I was admitted to hospital for dehydration and was losing weight weekly due to my inability to get anything down. This surgeon refused consider that just maybe he wrapped the opening too tight. He basically said it would resolve, but could take to a year. He also said that I should not drink with a straw, eat bread, have carbonated drinks and I must take very small bites and chew, chew, chew and chew some more (food should be pretty much liquid before swallowing). I believed him. This surgeon finally referred me out to your office as I keep losing weight, not improving for months and I am so glad he did.

    Dr. Ross, you ordered an endoscopy and a contrast swallow test done without the 48-hour camera. We felt that the opening to stomach was too small for camera. You then scheduled surgery for a nissen fundoplication redo just this October. I can drink and eat per the meal plan for recovery from surgery. I have gained 3 pounds and am excited to eat whatever I want after the eight-week recovery period ends.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, for giving me my health back. I am telling everyone about you, your practice and the outstanding support staff from the office staff to Florida Hospital’s staff, to pre-op staff to surgical staff and finally the hospital floor staff (nurses, nurse assistants, dietary, janitorial).

    Thanks to Dr. Ross and her amazing team at Florida Hospital; I finally have my twin sister back. After almost a year of watching her suffer with severe pain with every attempt to eat. Our world is better because of you.

  • I would highly recommend Dr. Rosemurgy and Dr. Ross. They are both very caring and highly skilled.

    I would highly recommend Dr. Rosemurgy and Dr. Ross. They are both very caring and highly skilled. I have recently moved to Florida from Massachusetts and was very lucky to have found them. I feel they saved my life or at least gave me a better chance for survival of this disease. Dr. Rosemurgy was referred to me by Dr, Raja in Englewood Florida, about 100 miles of Tampa.

    I have deep appreciation for Dr. Rosemurgy, Dr. Ross, their fellows, as well as the rest of the team. Their office staff is kind, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • My surgery went well and I cannot thank Dr. Sharona Ross enough for the difference in how I am compared to where I was before surgery.

    At my first visit with Dr. Sharona B. Ross I was impressed with the staff and the office atmosphere. From the beginning I and my wife came with as much of my medical information that they were pretty confident that they could help me with laparoscopic surgery through the belly button with the less anesthesia and hospital stay with a quicker recovery time. So my journey began, I had to lose 25 lbs. prior to surgery and do a lot of exercise. I left the office with one goal in mind and that was to follow all the instructions that were required to reach my goal. I went into surgery on Dec 10, 2015 and Dr. Ross and the anesthesiologist were very informative as to what would happen.

    My surgery went well and I cannot thank Dr. Sharona Ross enough for the difference in how I am compared to where I was before surgery. I consider myself on of Dr. Ross’s Groupies….the type of surgery I had is called a Nissen Fundoplication. There are several videos available that will give anyone an idea how the procedure is done. They were very informative.

    With great confidence, I would recommend either Dr. Ross or Dr. Rosemurgy for this type of surgery to another having similar symptoms as mine.

  • Thank you my beautiful Dr. Ross and my fantastic Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy!!

    When we moved to Florida in 2012 the vomiting was with almost every meal. It was very painful. I went to a gastroenterologist in Ft. Myers. He reviewed the situation, diagnosed achalasia and referred me to "the best" Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy at Florida Hospital Tampa. Dr. Ross recommended surgery: Laparoendoscopic-single site Heller myotomy with anterior fundoplication for achalasia. Dr. Ross explained the procedure and set up the preliminary tests and the surgery. I spent one night at Florida Hospital Tampa. The staff and the hospital were excellent. There is no scar from the surgery because it goes through the belly button area. Dr. Ross gave me a 3 month progressive diet. It was easy to follow. Although soft and bland, the results were the best possible. After the diet I could eat everything without symptoms. One year later I can eat whatever and whenever I want without any symptoms. Thank you my beautiful Dr. Ross and my fantastic Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy!!

  • I really appreciate the positive approach she brought to my care and I credit her and her team for not only saving my life, but restoring a quality of life that makes every day worth living.

    Just before I reached my 84th birthday in November, 2013, I became very sick. I had been hospitalized for 3 weeks unable to tolerate any food/liquid by mouth. An endoscopy showed a probable gastro-intestinal malignancy. My outlook seemed very grim.

    However, on the same day of this finding, I had extremely good fortune to be referred to Dr Ross and her care at Florida Hospital Tampa. Her skilled Whipple procedure extracted a stage 4 tumor from my duodenum that resolved the immediate symptoms this growth caused. While recovering from Whipple surgery, she installed a port for administration of chemotherapy. After twelve chemo treatments using the Gemzar protocol and no detection of any further tumor development, the cancer treatment center wanted me to go through additional radiation treatment for "insurance". She confirmed that this was not a good idea. Subsequent imaging at the cancer treatment center showed a shadow on my liver which was interpreted as further cancer and I received several additional chemo treatments which had a really negative impact on my quality of life. she arranged for better imaging at Florida Hospital Tampa that allowed me to halt the chemo treatments. Since then life has normalized and I am now months past my 85th birthday. First, her surgical treatment saved my life. Then, her ongoing involvement and monitoring post-surgery has helped me navigate through the complexities of the medical system. I really appreciate the positive approach she brought to my care and I credit her and her team for not only saving my life, but restoring a quality of life that makes every day worth living.

    I can't ever thank her enough for taking the lead in getting me through all this; please continue to be there for me!

    God bless her and may Dr. Ross have a very happy life.

  • It should be noted from the beginning to the end Dr. Ross and her staff were extremely professional.

    I am writing on behalf of my spouse. My wife, Doris has requested that I write comments concerning her Doctor, Doctor Sharona Ross. In May of 2016, Doctor Ross performed at least two procedures on my wife Doris. Procedure # 1 Nissen Fundoplication and Procedure # 2 Hiatal Hernia. These procedures were performed in the Florida Hospital in Tampa, Florida.

    It should be noted from the beginning to the end Dr. Ross and her staff were extremely professional. Dr. Ross explained the entire procedure to my wife and put my wife at ease. All patients have normal anxiety about invasive procedures. Dr. Ross is a deeply concerning Doctor about her patients and her decisions in the case of my spouse were 100% accurate. I and my spouse sincerely thank her. We could not have chosen a more compassionate and professional Physician.

  • Your personal attention, concern, and visits, along with the constant and attentive care from your staff, were as much and more than we had ever expected.

    In early December 2016 I developed jaundice. My primary care doctor immediately ordered a CT scan of my abdomen which revealed a small tumor at the head of the pancreas. I was referred to a St. Petersburg gastroenterologist who determined the tumor needed to be removed as soon as possible via a Whipple procedure which he scheduled for 2 January, 2017.

    Given the scope and complexity of the Whipple procedure my wife and I determined we would like a second opinion. We consulted friends, medical, and legal professionals in our area for advice. Our most trusted sources pointed to your office. Amazingly, or perhaps providentially, your staff was able to work around the Christmas holidays and your very busy schedule to get us in for an office visit on December 30th.

    This office visit confirmed the axiom that you only get to make one first impression. Your masterful presentation confirmed the diagnosis that a Whipple procedure was necessary and that doing this with your minimally invasive robotic technology/tools was the optimum course of action. Incredibly, the procedure was scheduled for 4 January, 2017.

    The surgery (7 hours!) did happen on the 4th at Florida Hospital. The next five days were another confirmation we had made the best choice. Your personal attention, concern, and visits, along with the constant and attentive care from your staff, were as much and more than we had ever expected. That coupled with the thoroughly professional care provided by Florida Hospital and staff made for a totally satisfying experience.

  • I truly feel like I have a second change because of this surgery that repaired my sick digestive tract

    First of all I want to thank all of you for giving me a second chance at living a normal life again. I really had no idea how sick I was until you came into my life.

    When Dr. Ross came to see me on November 4 th, 2012, she presented a plan she really felt would help me. My symptoms before my surgery were crippling. I had nausea and vomiting with stomach pain, feelings of choking and throat pain even when drinking water. All the prescription and OTC medications were not helping. I lived like this for over five years.

    After my surgery within days, I was able to lay down flat and I haven't been able to do that in years because of the severe reflux I suffered before surgery. The surgical incision is so minimal, because Dr. Ross used Robotic Surgery and made a small incision at the umbilical area; I never even knew it was there. I'm able to sleep all night: no more vomiting and no pain with swallowing anything. It doesn't take 2 to 3 glasses of water to get a little bit of food down. I can now go out and be with family and friends without declining to go out because of my unpredictable stomach.

    I truly feel like I have a second change because of this surgery that repaired my sick digestive tract. Thank you again, Dr. Ross and Dr. Rosemurgy, and to your staff for helping me. God bless all of you and I look forward to my next post-up visit in May.

  • I highly recommend Dr. Sanjeevi, Dr. Ross and their team.

    After two decades of suffering with GERD and seeing numerous GI Doctors, I met with Dr. Arthi Sanjeevi, who quickly diagnosed my issues. Dr. Sanjeevi recommend fundoplication and cholecystectomy. I met with Dr. Ross and discussed the surgeries needed. I scheduled the nissen fundoplication and cholecystectomy immediately. 10 weeks post operation and my life has changed significantly. I feel absolutely wonderful. I'm happier and healthier with no visible scar. I highly recommend Dr. Sanjeevi, Dr. Ross and their team.

  • I am eternally grateful to Dr. Ross for giving me back my life.

    I was admitted to Florida Hospital Tampa for a Toupet fundoplication and repair of the esophageal hiatus/giant hiatal hernia and reduction of the giant hiatal hernia.

    The surgery was performed without complication and I was released the same afternoon.

    The results of this surgery were immediately seen. First, I no longer needed Prilosec. Second, I could breath. I am almost 5 months after surgery and I can perform normal functions without the need of my fast acting inhaler. I have been able to keep my weight in the normal BMI range and just have a better quality of life.

    Had I not taken my medical situation into my own hands, I am convinced I would be very sick today. I know that my physicians have their hands tied by the insurance companies and the government bureaucracy. The "squeaky wheel gets the grease".

    It is this patient's opinion that if I had not taken matters into my own hands I'd be a lot sicker. The final diagnosis that I'm left with is Barrett's Esophagus.

    I am eternally grateful to Dr. Ross for giving me back my life.

  • Your passion and devotion for your job and clients does not go unnoticed.

    I cannot thank you enough for giving me the chance to live a healthy life. Your passion and devotion for your job and clients does not go unnoticed. I am so thankful to have you on this journey to health! I cannot remember when I felt better than I do now. I hope that makes all the hours you put in worth it. I truly appreciate everything you’ve done for me (including answering all my silly questions).

    Thank you so much.

  • She always responded with patience, warmth, and kindness. Her demeanor alone helped us feel more relaxed about the procedure.

    My dad's is 85 years old, and recovering from robotic whipple surgery he completed on December 17th 2015.

    I am compelled to write this letter expressing my sincere and deep appreciation for the work that Dee Dee Barreiro has performed on behalf of my dad and my family.

    As we performed our extensive due-diligence regarding what hospital, and more importantly, the doctor we wanted to perform the surgery, Dee Dee put us over the top to go with Dr. Rosemury and Dr. Ross. Dee Dee was truly the third leg in the stool to help us make our final decision. I even worked up the courage to tell Dr. Rosemury that it's a good thing his confidence is tempered by Dee Dee's humility! Her responsiveness excelled well beyond the personnel at well-known MD Anderson and Johns Hopkins.

    Our interaction with Dee Dee has been smooth sailing since our first meeting, the nerve-racking time leading up to the surgery, and our post-operative experience. I'm sure you are all well aware how anxiety and morbid fear can manifest itself when one learns that a beloved family member has pancreatic cancer. Dee Dee exercised incredible patience and compassion. She answered at least twenty of questions, in addition to addressing questions from other family members. She always responded with patience, warmth, and kindness. Her demeanor alone helped us feel more relaxed about the procedure.

    I cannot say enough positive things about Dee Dee. The only negative I can think of is that she didn't tell me her real name was Carmen until two whole weeks after I met her (I thought she liked me more than that)!! :) :)

    I offer this letter without reservation and with the greatest enthusiasm.

  • Words cannot express my gratitude to you for the professional manner and skills in which you handled my surgery.

    Words cannot express my gratitude to you for the professional manner and skills in which you handled my surgery. I thank God for sending a surgeon like you my way. I am doing well and getting stronger every day (all the praises go to my heavenly father).

    I saw Dr. Al-Hassani today and my PET scan was negative (praises to my Heavenly Father again). My family also thanks you for your compassion and concern while I was under your care. May God continue to bless and keep you. Again, many thanks. Also, give our thanks to DJ for her care to me.

  • I left the office with no doubt I made the right decision to go through with the surgery.

    I experienced reflux for more than 25 years. I was taken to the hospital with severe chest pains and it was then I was diagnosed with a Hiatal Hernia. I have been prescribed various medications over time, including Prilosec, Nexium and Protonix. Over the last 15 years I was taking one or the other of these medications twice a day. The medications worked, for the most part, as long as I stayed away from certain foods.

    During this time I developed Barrett's Esophagus and was worried it might turn into Esophageal Cancer. I talked with my family doctor and he suggested I see Doctors Rosemurgy/Ross for evaluation/consultation. The recommended procedure was explained in great detail and I was also shown a video of the procedure. I left the office with no doubt I made the right decision to go through with the surgery.

    My surgery was on 21 August 2012. The procedure is called ESOPHYX also known as TRANSORAL INCISIONLESS FUNDOPLICATION (TIF). Had I known beforehand what the results would be, I would have done this a long time ago! My surgery was on-time as scheduled. I awoke in the recovery room in quite a bit of pain. Medication was given and soon I was comfortable. Next was transportation to a private room and great caregivers. After a few hours I was offered a liquid food tray. I ate everything and was able to keep it all down without a problem. I asked about going home and was told I could if I was able to urinate. Shortly thereafter I was discharged with pain medication.

    I took the pain medication that night to assure I would get a decent night's sleep. Other than the initial pain meds, I was not in severe enough pain to require more. Other than scratchy throat and an ache in my left shoulder, which lasted about 10 days, I felt no need to take any further pain medication, not even Aleve, Motrin, or Tylenol. I followed the recommended diet steps and have experienced no problems whatsoever.

    I would recommend anyone having GERD to consider having this done. The procedure is no more uncomfortable than having a regular endoscopy.

  • Congratulations on the culture that you have created and “Thank You” to everyone who made our lives better during his stay at Florida Hospital.

    We must congratulate your organization and your staff for creating the most caring health care facility that both he and I have ever been associated with. It was the most positive experience, from the time we were greeted by your valet staff through to the meeting the most qualified and caring clinical staff and physicians.

    Dennis was lucky enough to acquire room 469 on Four South. It was a huge room with a beautiful view, such a great place to be to support a positive attitude towards wellness.

    Your staff beginning with the Valet, Volunteers, Housekeeping, Dietary, Ancillary services (Radiology, Lab, PT, OT), Nursing and Physicians are absolutely wonderful. We hesitate to name names because we’d hate to miss anyone as they were all outstanding, but there were some who really went above and beyond and will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    Congratulations on the culture that you have created and “Thank You” to everyone who made our lives better during his stay at Florida Hospital.